St. Pete Pier (St. Pete #1)

A couple of weeks ago, I drove a little over 2 hours to St. Petersburg, or St. Pete for short. I have never been to St. Pete’s, and have been wanting to visit for a while. Also, I needed to take some time off of work, and decided to take a little vacation. I spent two days exploring St. Pete’s. I started planning for this trip about a month before I went. I picked a hotel conveinent to most of the attractions in downtown St. Pete. There are several hotel options in Downtown St. Pete and St. Pete’s Beach (which will be another post).

When I was planning my trip, I made a list of all of the attractions I wanted to visit. Some of them are more well known than others. I definetly had to go to the St. Pete Pier and the Salvador Dali Museum, which I did. Additionally, I went to a variety of restaurants and cafes, which I will post the pictures on FacebookInstagram, and Threads starting next week.

When I was looking on the St. Pete’s Pier website after booking my trip, I looked under activities and found out that they were having the Tampa Bay Ice Cream Festival on the day I got there. After checking into my hotel, I walked over to the pier to find the ice cream. Before arriving to the ice cream festival, I walked pass the Marketplace, which contains a variety of vendors every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I did not buy anything.

Then, I walked a little further on the Pier, and their was the Tampa Bay Ice Cream Festival. I had a hard time deciding which of the ice cream to try from the twentyish trucks. I tried the Ube Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream from Astro, which was amazing. I never knew that Ube, also known as purple sweet potato, would taste so good.

After eating my ice cream, I walked pass Spa Beach. Then, I went into the Tampa Bay Watch Discovery Center, which will be headline for the St. Pete #2 post. At the end of the pier, there is a three story building with three restaurants. I walked up to the top to the Tiki Bar, and it had a great view. I was not very hungry, so I got a coffee from the Driftwood Cafe, and Hyppo Gormuet Ice Pop on the way back at the ice cream festival.

I really enjoyed visiting the St. Pete Pier, and I would go back to the pier if I ever return to St. Pete. I can see why it is one of St. Pete’s main attractions. It reminded me more of a smaller Navy Pier in Chicago than Naples Pier because of the length, and presence of the restaurants and shops. When I went to the pier, it was really crowded with being a weekend afternoon and the festival. Additionally, they have a variety of art and history throughout the pier. Even the St. Petersburg Museum of History is at the beginning of the pier. I was planning on going to the museum, but I was exhausted after driving and walking on the pier on a hot summer day.

The St. Pete collection will be split up into seven parts. I am not sure if it will be seven months in a row or not, it is dependent if I decide to post another place I go to in between.

All of the pictures of St. Pete Pier and restaurants will be posted on FacebookInstagram, and Threads

St. Pete Pier

Astro Ice Cream

Driftwood Cafe

Hyppo Gourmet Ice Pops

600 2nd Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701

Hours : 6 am – 11 pm

One thought on “St. Pete Pier (St. Pete #1)

Leave a comment