Vilano Beach – St. Augustine Part #6

The sixth and final post of the St. Augustine collection. When I was booking the trip, I looked at a bunch of hotels, and found one in Vilano Beach. It was about a ten minute drive to downtown St. Augustine. Also, some of the hotels in St. Augustine were still not very close to downtown, and had to drive their anyways. I ended up staying at the Holiday Inn in Vilano Beach. It is a newer hotel that was moderatley priced. 

Another reason I picked to stay in Vilano Beach was because the hotels were walkable to the beach. One morning I was up early, and decided to take a peaceful walk to beach before breakfast. The water was a little chilly. Vilano Beach has red sand, which I have never seen before. 

In Vilano Beach, they have a couple of hotels, inns, restaurants, shops, and a Publix. It is very quiet. They have a pier, where I saw the sunset one night while walking on the pier. We did eat at the Beaches at Vilano for dinner one night (the food was delicious). 

There is a bridge to get on Vilano Beach that was very high, and made me nervous driving on it (I get a little anxious driving on bridges, and have a fear of heights, but it was safe to drive on). After driving on the bridge, I took a right to get to the town and hotel. One day I took a left, and it is much more of scenic route. It is part of the historic A1A route (I included a link below). I drove a few miles, and it contains beaches, and homes. 

Vilano Beach is a nice place to stay if planning on traveling St. Augustine. Also, if staying in St. Augustine or somewhere near by, it is a nice place to go visit for the day. 

I will post pictures of the Fountain of Youth Archelogical Park on both Facebook and Instagram.

Vilano Beach

Holiday Inn Vilano Beach

A1A Route

Leave a comment