Fountain of Youth – St. Augustine Part #5

My second to last post about St. Augustine is about my visit to the Fountain of Youth Archeologcal Park near downtown St. Augustine. It is one of the more popular tourist attractions in St. Augustine because it provides a lot of history, and artifacts. The Fountain of Youth is considered to be the oldest attraction in Florida, which contains a spring water fountation. I did not drink the water, but it was an option. Ponce de Leon drank from this fountain. The location of the park is where he landed in Florida originally in 1513. They have other artifacts and demonstrations of the time such as Timuchan Village, Blacksmiths, Cannon Firing, and a Spanish Lookout. Additionally, they had a Celestial Navagation Show in the Planaterium about Ponce de Leon’s journey. At the back of the park, there is a riverwalk that shows some beautiful nature of St. Augustine.

I did enjoy the history and the scenery of the Fountain of Youth, but my favorite part was the peacocks. They were roaming all over the place. The peacocks are such beautiful and colorful birds. They were a little loud at times. I ate lunch at the restaurant at the park, Smoked Southern BBQ (where I heard a bunch of peacock noises).

I enjoyed going to the Fountain of Youth, aka the land of peacocks. I really enjoyed walking around and learning about the origins of St. Augustine. I would recommend visiting this place when visiting St. Augustine especially if you are interested in walking through local history, and for the peacocks.

I will post pictures of the Fountain of Youth Archelogical Park on both Facebook and Instagram.

Fountain of Youth

11 Magnolia Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084

Hours: 9 – 6 pm Everyday

Admission : 19.95/adult, 17.95/Seniors, 6.95/Ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under are Free

Leave a comment